Sam Green and the Midnight Heist to appear in High Tide

And so begins another week. And with it the promise of several announcements from Long Arm Films that, even to the most world-weary of observers, should prove to be of some interest.

And to us, let me tell you, they are unbelievably exciting. So exciting in fact that I get a little bit dizzy when I think about them. And then need a cup of tea and a good sit down; two of my favourite things in life, so basically it is win-win.

So, with news of casting for “High Tide” scheduled for revelation later on this week, let me take this opportunity to announce the signing a brilliant band who are going to appear in the final third of the film. Without giving too much away, the two main characters end up at a party taking place at a house next to the sea. And what a party it is. The kind of party that you would scarce believe could even exist until you actually found yourself there, bottle of beer in hand, smile plastered widely across your face, as a gentle summer breeze, thick with scent and pleasure, carries the sound of music and laughter across the garden to where you stand. You look around. You belong. You are drunk and you are very happy.

That kind of party.

And so we needed a band to provide the music. A band to appear in the film as themselves, to look great and sound wonderful.  And I am delighted to say that we have found them.

SAM GREEN AND THE MIDNIGHT HEIST are going to be massive. Believe me, I know about these things. (I don’t, clearly, but if I say it assertively enough then you  may believe me.) They describe their sound as a “Footstompin’, harmonica wailin’, lapslide guitar pickin roots music” and I am not going to disagree. They are an incredible live band who have been sending crowds all over the country into paroxysms of musical pleasure on their recent tour. And some of them are from Devon which, in my eyes, makes them closer to godliness than most other bands. And if that wasn’t enough, then they have just been booked for Glastonbury this year. So there.

You can have a good look and a listen to them in action by clicking on the video below:

See? Told you they were ace.

Their debut EP “Miles Away” is available now. Here is me looking smug  (and slightly alarming) with my copy:

sam_green

Right, there now follows a list of model verb phrases:

You can buy a copy of “Miles Away” here.

You can follow the band on Twitter here.

You can Like their Facebook page here.

And you can visit their website here and find out when and where they are playing. 

And finally you can listen to the EP via the thingy below (but only if you promise to buy it afterwards):

(and you can call me Al)

Gosh, there is a lot you can do isn’t there? That should keep you busy for hours. We are absolutely chuffed that the band are going to appear; it was very important for us that we chose a band we not only liked but one that was also right for the scene. We are convinced that Sam Green and the Midnight Heist are going to look and sound wonderful in the film. And I am sure we will share a few ciders and spin many yarns together about life in Devonshire after the cameras have stopped rolling. (Given that we are shooting on digital, any rolling among the cameras will mean that someone has left the equipment truck on a slope without first applying the handbrake. This would be a bad thing).

Before I finish, let me just refer back to last week’s “big” news: the launch of our Internship Programme. Since staring Long Arm it has been important to Jimmy and I that, with any success that comes our way, (and we are yet to have any!) we should try and make it easier for people like us to make some progress in this most tetchy, closed and idiosyncratic of industries. Our Intern Programme is a very small gesture in this direction. Full details are available on our website and if you do know anybody young and talented and living in Wales then you may wish to point them our way.

And that’s it for now. Please excuse the lack of blather and nonsense (for some of you it may well be a blessed relief) but the more actual film stuff I have to write about, the less time I have for musings on (and let me just check my notebook) – cheese, PJ Harvey, the dearth of “Hello Mum” signs on modern television, the genius of Mad Men and the nicest bottoms in film (both naked and sheathed). So if any of these subjects crop up in the coming weeks, you’ll know things are not going well.

Oh yes, around the middle of the coming week we are going to tell you something amazing. So amazing that I still think it is probably an elaborate conspiracy to make me look silly and then to break my heart  . . . . So let’s hope this isn’t the case.

2 thoughts on “Sam Green and the Midnight Heist to appear in High Tide

  1. Hello! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me
    of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. If I hadn’t seen such riches . . . a plea for a few quid – James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Leave a Reply

